17e léger Musicians – Update 7

It’s been a while since the last update but finally had a chance to get back to the band….

Since the last update I’ve finished applying the base colours (apart from the plumes).  Unfortunately my models don’t have the correct headgear (czapka’s) so I thought I’d try and make the shakos look as close as they could to the fancy Polish style headgear. In the end I settled on yellow, with white tassels and red banding on top.

Once I’d painted the Jingling Jonny,  I couldn’t help thinking that he looked like he worked on a building site or road works, all because of that bloomin yellow waistcoat!   Therefore one of the first things to do in the next update will be to  reverse the colours scheme.  Finally the instruments were given a base coat of black then painted with a mix of brazen brass and shining gold.

Till the next update…..

Leave a comment